Summer Reading, Watching and Listening

Hey everyone!

It’s currently Summer over here in New Zealand (not that you would know by the way the weather has been acting, it’s cold and windy at the moment) and every season on my previous blog I used to do a post about the season’s playlist and booklist. I still really love that idea but I couldn’t incorporate films into that list. So I have combined my season’s lists with another post series that was on my old blog called Reading, Watching, and Listening (or RWL for short). RWL was a post about three books, films, and artists I was loving during that month. Now you get to read my three favourite books, films, and artists of the season. So without further ado and waffling (sorry about that) here is my Summer Reading, Watching, and Listening.

Reading:

Dan and Phil Go Outside by Dan Howell and Phil Lester

I got this book for Christmas from my parents and I absolutely love it. Danisnotonfire and Amazing Phil are two of my favourite YouTubers of all time and their second book was just as amazing as their first. Dan and Phil Go Outside is a photo book from their tour around the U.K and U.S.A. I love all of the never seen before pictures and the little write-ups explaining parts of their tour. If you love Dan and Phil I definitely recommend checking this book out. If you have never heard of them go and watch their videos!! You won’t regret it.

 

img_1233
My copy of Dan and Phil Go Outside featuring my Christmas Tree

 

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

This book was recommended to me by my English teacher for personal responses this year (personal responses are like book reviews and they are horrible). I really enjoyed this book as it was a classic young adult book with drama, romance, and humour. It follows a boy named Mikey through his last days of High School before going off the college. This book is amazing as it has the fantasy aspect in it but it’s not from the main character’s point of view.

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

I picked this book up on a whim from my local library and fell absolutely in love with it. It’s about a girl named Evie who has OCD, the book follows her story at college and all the ups and downs she experiences due to her OCD. I love this book as feminism is mentioned quite a lot and it made me understand more about feminism and why we should all become one. This book was also rather good mix of funny and sad and I can’t wait to read the next one.

Watching:

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Where do I even start? If you don’t know this about me already I’m a massive Harry Potter fan. This film was absolutely amazing and all jokes aside magical. I love so many parts of this film from the main character Newt (who is the cutest little Hufflepuff ever) to his fantastic beasts and the entire idea of the American wizarding world. I loved the film but I do wonder whether it was really necessary as the Harry Potter series had been wrapped up rather nicely. Though I’m still very grateful for its existence and can’t wait for the next one!

BBC’s Sherlock Series

The fourth season of this series is currently airing in the U.K at the moment (no spoilers please as I haven’t seen it yet) so in preperation for it to be on New Zealand television I have been watching the third season. I absolutely love this series and I don’t think I could ever stop loving it. The actors and plot are absolutely perfect and I love how it is set in modern day London. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are absolutely perfect and I wouldn’t want them to change a thing. I don’t really want to talk about the plot of season three as some of you reading this may not have seen it but I can tell you it is amazing!  I cannot wait until the new season airs even though it means the series will be going back on hiatus and if you are a fan like myself you will understand the troubles (this is also my first time experiencing the hiatus as I started watching the series last year and I’m very upset about how long I’m going to have to wait).

Zoella

Zoella (A.K.A Zoe Sugg) is a British YouTuber who I have started watching. She mostly makes beauty and lifestyle videos which are something I don’t generally watch as I’m more interested in entertainment. Though I absolutely love watching her videos as they are all very bright and lovely and never fail to make me happy. I love Zoe’s personality and her little pug Nala who is adorable and I want one just like her.  If you haven’t seen her videos I definitely recommend them.

Listening:

Ed Sheeran

Ed has just released his two new singles off his next album and I have been listening to them non-stop. My favourite of the two is definitely Castle on the Hill as I love the lyrics and the meaning behind the song. The release of his new singles has also inspired me to start listening to his first album again. My favourite tracks off his first album are Gold Rush, Give Me Love and Wake Me Up.

Crowded House

Crowded House is a rock band that was formed in Australia by New Zealander Neil Finn and Australians Paul Hester and Nick Seymour. I’m not a huge fan of rock bands generally but I love Crowded House’s sound and they have some amazing songs that I absolutely love like Better Be Home Soon and Weather With You. If you haven’t heard of them or their music you should totally listen to some of their music as it’s amazing.

One Direction

I’m not a super One Direction fan but I do enjoy their music and have started listening to their music again. I mostly enjoy their slightly older stuff like One Thing and Little Things though I do love their latest album.

If you have managed to keep reading all the way to the end then I applaud you as this is probably my longest post ever. If you want to read more of my work please feel free to follow my blog and have a look around at some of my other posts.

As always I would love to hear your opinions on my recommendations. I would also love to get some recommendations from you on what I should read, watch or listen to so please comment your suggestions.

I probably won’t have a post up next week as I will be on holiday with no wifi but I will try to post something if I can and have got my laptop with me.

Today’s thought of the post: I can’t wait until my copy of the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Screenplay arrives as well as Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets so I can read them while sitting in the sun on holiday.

Later Gators xx

Girl Surviving the World: alive and Sherlock obsessed

beach

Leave a Reply

