Practical Lessons I learnt From the First Days of School

Hey everyone!

I’m finally back to blogging after a few massive weeks when I just haven’t had the time. I went on holiday for nine days which was amazing and relaxing before being thrown back into the whirlpool of despair that is school. My first day of school went far better than I expected though I still got maths homework on the first day (WHY?!). I was getting incredibly stressed over starting school again and through this experience, I learnt three very valuable lessons that I am going to share with you today, they relate not only to school but other events and activities in everyday life. I hope these lessons help you as much as they have helped me survive these first few days of school.

Everything is not as bad as you think it will be…

I was dreading going back to school as I was so worried and worked up over these imaginary problems that I had created in my head. What if I don’t have any friends in my class? What if my teachers are horrible and I won’t learn anything? What if I embarrass myself on the first day? I even went as far to wonder, what if the entire school has turned against me and all hate me? I knew that it probably wouldn’t happen but there was always that what if? In the end it turned out I was worrying about absolutely nothing because I have friends in every class, my teacher all seem relatively great so far, I didn’t embarrass myself on the first day and the entire school definitely didn’t hate me (even the girls that I had a massive falling out with last year didn’t bother me (that fight is a whole other story that I won’t tell right now)). Getting yourself worked up over a what if is no way to spend your life. You have to accept that things will go wrong and not everything can go according to plan but that is ok. You just have to keep going and keep trying and eventually, everything will work out, maybe not the way you expected it to but nothing ever works out like that.

Start as you mean to go on…

This is very important when it comes to starting new things like a new year. I made sure that I always got my homework completed the evening it got set and tried not to leave everything to the last minute. I also made sure I walked my dog nearly every afternoon as it was an activity that I don’t fully enjoy but I know that it is good for me. I started doing this on the first day and have stuck to it for the last 7 days (I may have missed some walks but I can’t be completely perfect). I have found that starting each task with a positive attitude has really helped me in completing those tasks. It stops me from getting bored half way through and gives me the determination to keep going not matter how hard or boring the challenge is. I hope to continue doing these two things throughout the year as it will greatly improve my productivity but it can also make me feel better that I stuck to these two ideas throughout the year. I may give up but that doesn’t worry me because I started something that I may continue and it is far easier doing something from the start than halfway through.

People are too worried about themselves to be worried about you…

I hate being judged. Absolutely hate it. School is the worst place of all because teenagers are just so judgy. It’s in their nature. But what I have learnt is that people are too worried about themselves to be worried about what you are doing or judging what you are doing. I’m constantly worrying about what I’m doing, which means I don’t really have time to worry about what everyone else is doing. Everyone else is usually the same. That’s why it’s important to not worry about what others think of you because that’s their opinion and you can’t really change someone’s opinion about you no matter how nice you are to them because some people just won’t move on from the time you stole their toy when you were five. So I have started to do things for me and not care what others think because they can think what they want but as long as I am happy that is all the matters. I recommend you to do the same. Don’t worry about what everyone else is thinking and just do what you want to do. People waste too much of their lives worrying about what ifs and what other people think rather than just going out and doing what they are passionate about and want to do.

I hope this post has helped you in some way. I plan on getting back into posting regularly again now that I’m back at school as I will need a distraction from the six personal responses I have to do (they are incredibly boring).

Today’s thought of the post: “Stress ruins every day of your life while death ruins only one.” – Sherlock Holmes (from the BBC Series episode The Lying Detective). As I mentioned in my last post I’m in love with Sherlock and have seen series four which was absolutely amazing just like I knew it would be. This quote is also very true and I like it quite a lot as it relates to this post as well as life in general.

Later Gators xx

Girl Surviving the World: alive and learning

16640982_1845984075673772_2700810600201227208_n

Leave a Reply

