World Book Day

Hey everyone!

It has been another jam-packed week. On the 26th of February, I turned 16! 16? It feels like only yesterday I was a little five-year-old heading off to school (I’m beginning to sound like my mother). Other important things that happened this week was that Ed Sheeran released his new album ÷ (divide) which is absolutely amazing!! I listened to the entire thing on Friday before I went to school. I love all of the songs but my favourite would have to be Perfect. I also love Happier and New Man. My week ended with me ending up being sick with a cold (yay) so I’m currently in bed writing this between Doctor Who episodes (I’ve just started Doctor Who and it’s fantastic!).

Today (for me anyway) is the 4th of March A.K.A World Book Day!!! As someone who loves reading just as much as I do, I thought today would be a perfect day for a post about my favourite books. I’m going to talk about my favourite book series (I couldn’t choose just one book, it had to be all of them) when I was a child, preteen and now a teenager.

When I was a child I loved…

The Famous Five by Enid Blyton. Not many of my friends had really heard of these books or even read them due to them first being published in 1942. One day my primary school teacher got out the first Famous Five book and started reading them to us. I was hooked. I “borrowed” all of the copies my Grandmother owned and have bought a few for myself over the years. I still love reading these books even now because there is something great about four adventurous children and their dog solving mysteries. They also had an island so what’s not to love!?

When I was a preteen I obsessed over…

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Harry Potter was my life and it still is, something I’m not afraid to admit. If you have read my other posts you would know that I do love Harry Potter. My obsession started when I was 10 at primary school. This one boy stood at the front of the class and presented Harry Potter as the book he was currently reading (he was up to the third one). I, of course, raised my hand to ask what the first one was, something I quickly forgot, what kind of word is Philosophers? I took the first book home with me from the library and instantly fell in love. I used to always hire out the movies, though I had to wait until I had finished the book before watching the film. The only sad thing is I never went to a midnight screening of any of them films so I plan to do that for the next Fantastic Beasts. Harry Potter is absolutely magical and I will forever love these books.

Now I’m a teenager I lowkey love…

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. I love these books (though being a teenager I don’t really tell many of my friends about it as they still think it’s weird that I still love Harry Potter). Everything about them is amazing from the characters to the writing to the entire idea of Shadowhunters! My cousin gave me her copy of The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones which is the first book in the original series. I loved those books as well and now I love the Infernal Devices series which is the prequel series. This series is set in the Victorian Era in London (cool right!?).

I hope you enjoyed this little look into the books of my past as much as I enjoyed writing about them. I would love to hear about your favourite books in these three categories as my reading pile can never be too large.

Today’s thought of the post is: “With freedom, books, flowers and the moon, who could not be happy?” – Oscar Wilde. I love Oscar Wilde quotes and this is another one of my favourites. We have so many beautiful things in this world so why do we bother wasting time being sad when there is so much to do and so much to see?

Girl Surviving the World: alive and reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

